Post-graduate Research Supervision


  1. Dr Sergio Alonso Burgos, University of Granada (Spain)- Group Decision Making With Incomplete Fuzzy Preference Relations. Department of Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence (DECSAI), University of Granada. Co-supervisors: Prof. Enrique Herrera-Viedma, Prof. Francisco Herrera. May 2006.
  2. Dr Fahad Alshathry (DMU) - Building a Decision Support System to integrate digital evidence with interview investigation. Second supervisor. First supervisor: Dr Giampaolo Bella (STRL). August 2011
  3. Dr Sarah Greenfield (DMU) - Type-2 Fuzzy Logic: Circumventing the Defuzzification Bottleneck. First supervisor. Second supervisors: Prof. Robert I. John and Dr Simon Coupland (CCI). May 2012.
  4. Tamas Galli (MPhil DMU) - Fuzzy Logic Based Software Product Quality Models by Execution Tracing. First supervisor. Second supervisor: Dr Jenny Carter (CCI). Technical adviser: Helge Janicke (STRL). February 2014.
  5. Dr Maria Raquel Ureña Perez, University of Granada (Spain)- Department of Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence (DECSAI), University of Granada. Co-supervisor: Prof. Enrique Herrera-Viedma. 25th November 2015.
  6. Manal Alghieth (DMU) - Development of an evolutionary neuro-fuzzy inference methodology for efficient time-series financial forecasting. Second supervisor. First supervisor: Dr Yingjie Yang (CCI). January 2017.
  7. Issa Qabajeh (DMU) - Dynamic Rule Covering Classification in Data Mining with Application in Phishing Detection. First supervisor. Second supervisor: Dr Andrew Richard Grantham Jones. External advisor: Dr Fadi Thabtah (Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology, Aucklan, New Zealand). May 2017.
  8. Stephen Marc Ackland (DMU) - Embedded Eye-Gaze Tracking on Mobile Devices. First supervisor. Second supervisors: Dr Simon Coupland, Dr Howell Istance, Dr Stephen Vickers. June 2017.
  9. Orestes Appel (DMU) - A Hybrid Approach to the Sentiment Analysis Problem. First supervisor. Second supervisor: Dr Jenny Carter . External advisor: Prof. Hamido Fujita (Iwate Prefectural University, Japan). July 2017.
  10. Mohammad Khalid Yousef Al-Omari (DMU) - An Agen-based Archichecture to Support Adaptivity in Virtual Learning Environment's Based on Learners' Learning Styles. Second supervisor. First supervisor: Dr Jenny Carter (CCI). October 2017.
  11. Eseosa Oshodin (DMU) - Encouraging Inactive users towards Effective Recommendation. First supervisor. Second supervisors: Dr Archie Khumar (IAI). Mode of Study: Full-Time on-site (02 April 2019).
  12. Nor H.Kamis (Emma) (University of Leicester - UoL) - Consistent Preference Similarity Network Clustering and Influence Based Consensus Group Decision Making. First supervisor. Other supervisors: Prof. Jeremy Levesley and Prof. Alexander Gorban (Dept. of Mathematics at UoL). Mode of study: Full-time on site (January 2019).
  13. Olukemi Olowofoyeku (DMU) - Adaptable Spatial Agent-Based Facility Location for Healthcare Coverage. Second supervisor. Other supervisor: Dr Jethro Shell (First Supervisor), Dr Lipika Deka (Second Supervisor). Mode of study: Full -time on site (July 2019).
  14. Raymond Moodley (DMU) - Enhancing the Prediction of Missing Targeted Items from the Transactions of Frequent, Known Users. First supervisor. Second supervisors: DR Fabio Caraffini, Dr Jenny Carter. Mode of study: Part-Time distance UK PhD Programme (January 2020).
  15. Tamas Galli (DMU) - Application of Data Science Techniques for Modelling Execution Tracing Quality. First supervisor. Second supervisor: Dr Francois Siewe (STRL). Mode of Study: Part-Time distance International PhD Programme (August 2022).
  16. Ahmed Ibrahim (DMU) - An extended Internet Users’ Information Privacy Concerns Model for evaluating users’ privacy behaviour across diverse internet environments in Egypt. Second supervisor. First supervisor: Dr Adebowale Owoseni (CCSR). Mode of Study: Full-Time distance International PhD Programme (1 Jan 2023 - 31 Dec 2026).


Chinese Research Visitors

  1. Professor Jian Wu (October 2012 - October 2013)
  2. Dr. Yujia Liu (December 2017 - December 2018)
  3. Dr. Jingjing Hao (December 2017 - December 2018)
  4. Dr. Guolin Tang (November 2018 - January 2020)
  5. Dr. Peng Wang (June 2019 - May 2020)
  6. Mingshou Cao (November 2021 - November 2022)
  7. Weiqiao Liu (November 2021 - November 2022)
  8. Xinli You (November 2021 - November 2022)
  9. Yanli Meng (October 2022 - October 2023)
  10. Sha Wang (December 2022 - December 2023)
  11. Yu Feng (February 2023 - February 2024)
  12. Huifang Nie (January 2024 - January 2025)
  13. Tingting He (January 2024 - January 2025)

Other Selected Research Visitors

  1. Dr. Burak Efe [1 year: August 2013 - August 2024] - Associate Professor at the Department of Industrial Engineering, Necmettin Erbakan University, Konya, Turkey.
  2. Dr. Jesús Serrano Guerrero [3 months: June 2023 - August 2023] - Associate Professor and Academic Secretary/International Affairs Vice-dean at the Computer Engineering College, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Ciudad Real, Spain.
  3. Dr. Ramón Alberto Carrasco González [3 months: June 2023 - September 2023; 3 months: December 2023 - March 2024] - Associate Professor and Vice-Dean for Research, Postgraduate Studies and International Affairs at the Faculty of Statistic, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain.